As a Church of England Voluntary Controlled School we are required to implement the National Curriculum from Year 1 to Year 6. National Curriculum subjects at primary school are: English, Maths, Science, Design and Technology, History, Geography, Art and Design, Music, Physical Education (PE) including swimming, Computing (ICT), and Ancient and Modern Foreign Languages (at key stage 2). We also provide Religious Education (RE) in line with the Suffolk RE Agreed Syllabus 2012. We use the Emmanuel Project to support the development of RE which encourages the children to focus on exploring the ‘Big Questions’ which are central to different faith groups and their beliefs.

We also teach these other subjects: Personal, Social, Health and Economic (PSHE) Education including Relationships and Sex Education (RSE). (Click here to see the latest DFE Guidance on RSE), Citizenship and Modern Foreign Languages at Key Stage 1. Please click on the link to view the Long Term Plan for PSHE.

We have carefully considered what should be included in our curriculum to ensure that the children at Bures Primary School are provided with the knowledge and cultural capital they need to succeed in life. It is vital to us that the curriculum is equally accessible to all pupils whatever their needs or disabilities thus complying with our duties under the Equality Act 2010 and the Special Educational Needs and Disabilities Regulations 2014 – (See our Equal Opportunities Policy, Public Sector Equality Duty, Accessibility Plan and Support for SEND Pupils). We have summarised this in our Curriculum Overview.

The English curriculum is taught mainly through ‘Success for All’ (SFA) for more informations about SFA click here. Alongside the ‘Success for All’ programme children are encouraged to develop their reading and writing skills through activities in all other curriculum areas. For example, they may be asked to write an explanation text linked to their current learning in Science, or they may need to use their reading skills to find out more about life in Ancient Rome.

The Maths curriculum is taught through the Maths Mastery Approach. A mathematical concept or skill has been mastered when a pupil can represent it in multiple ways, has the mathematical language to communicate related ideas, and can independently apply the concept to new problems in unfamiliar situations. Mastery is a journey and long-term goal, achieved through exploration, clarification, practice and application over time. At each stage of learning, pupils should be able to demonstrate a deep, conceptual understanding of the topic and be able to build on this over time. Pupils should have the opportunity to stay together and work through new content as a whole group. While mastery schemes of work may be challenging for some, the vast majority should be aiming for this standard. Intervention support and scaffolding are provided for children who for various reason may not be working at the expected standard. Click here to see the Maths Mastery units taught in each year group.

Through our carefully planned curriculum we aim to enable children to develop a deep and progressive understanding within each subject. Links between foundation subjects are exploited where meaningful and developed into themes for a term. Other foundation subjects are taught independently with teachers making good use of published schemes and other resources to support pupils’ learning.

Please click on the links below to see the Long Term Curriculum Plans for each year group.

Year 1                         Year 2                         Year 3                         Year 4                         Year 5                         Year 6



Early Years Foundation Stage

The children in our Reception Class (100 Acre Wood) follow the Early Years Foundations Stage Curriculum.

Key Stage 1

Key Stage One includes our Year 1 Class (Brambly Hedge) and Year 2 Class (Emerald City).

Key Stage 1 – Statutory Tests and Assessments

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child doesn’t do well enough in the check they’ll have to do it again in Year 2.

Key stage 1

Key stage 1 tasks and tests cover: Reading, Writing, Speaking and listening, Maths and Science

The tasks and tests are taken when the school chooses. Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out what level your child is at in each area. You can ask for the results but they’re only used to help the teacher assess your child’s work.

You can find out more about each class by clicking the class name below.

Key stage 2

Key stage one covers Year 3 to Year 6. Key stage 2 tests cover: English reading, English grammar, punctuation and spelling, Maths (including mental arithmetic)

The tests are taken in mid-May and last under 5 hours 30 minutes in total. You’ll get the results in July. If your child is demonstrating higher achievement then the headteacher may put them in for extra tests.

When your child reaches the end of key stage 2 the teacher will also report on your child’s progress in english, maths and science.

You can find out more about each class by clicking the class name below.

Bures Church of England Voluntary Controlled Primary School, Nayland Road, Bures, Suffolk, CO8 5BX

T: 01787 227446 E:

Share This